Buying guides6 min read

Office Pod Manufacturers: 5 Makers, Compared

Who builds office pods and what each maker puts in writing: PrivacyPod, Framery, ROOM, Hushoffice and Silen compared on test method, warranty, lead time and price.

Tyler Robarge

Tyler Robarge

Founder & Managing Director, PrivacyPod

Five office pod makers compared: PrivacyPod, Framery, ROOM, Hushoffice and Silen

PrivacyPod, Framery, ROOM, Hushoffice and Silen are five office pod manufacturers that publish who builds each pod, an acoustic figure and a lead time. Four publish an ISO 23351-1 Class A result for a one-person booth; ROOM publishes an NIC figure, a different test. PrivacyPod designs its pods, builds them in its overseas factory and sells factory-direct, from $6,395.

How do the five office pod manufacturers compare?

  • PrivacyPod
  • Framery
  • ROOM
  • Hushoffice
  • Silen

Five makers, compared on what each one publishes.

Lowest published price for a one-person booth before freight, installation and tax, read 1 October 2026 on each maker's site. Hushoffice's is Haworth's October 2025 North American list price; dealer pricing may be lower. Silen publishes no purchase price, so its rental rate is shown. ISO 23351-1 speech level reduction and Noise Isolation Class (NIC) are different tests, not interchangeable.
Maker and booth From Acoustic figure Lead time
PrivacyPod S Pod $6,395, ships free ISO 23351-1 Class A certified, 30.5 dB 1 to 2 wk Quick-Ship; 9 to 11 wk made to order
Framery One Compact $9,690 net ISO 23351-1 A-class, 30 dB 4 to 5 wk, made to order
ROOM Phone Booth $6,495 32 dB NIC 2 to 3 wk expedited; standard not stated
Hushoffice Hushfree XS $16,650 list (Haworth) ISO 23351-1 Class A, 30.3 dB About 4 wk to build, plus shipping
Silen Space 1 By quote; rents from $499 a month in Austin ISO 23351-1 Class A, 30.1 dB Within 6 wk on average
OursPrivacyPod S Pod one-person phone booth, Quick-Ship render
PrivacyPod S Pod$6,395. ISO 23351-1 Class A certified.
Framery One Compact one-person office phone booth
Framery One Compact$9,690 net. ISO 23351-1 A-class, 30 dB.
ROOM Phone Booth one-person booth, front view
ROOM Phone Booth$6,495. 32 dB NIC, a different test.
Hushoffice Hushfree XS one-person phone booth, white frame with a gray interior and a fixed tabletop, front view
Hushoffice Hushfree XS$16,650 list (Haworth). ISO 23351-1 Class A, 30.3 dB.
Silen Space 1 one-person phone booth, white frame with a dark interior, a shelf and a stool
Silen Space 1By quote, or rent from $499 a month in Austin. ISO 23351-1 Class A, 30.1 dB.

See the best office pods by size and how PrivacyPod stacks up by size.

What separates a manufacturer from a reseller?

A manufacturer designs, builds, tests and warrants the pod. A reseller quotes on someone else's documents.

Five documents a manufacturer can hand you

  1. The acoustic test reportNaming the method, the laboratory and the model.
  2. The warranty documentWith its start date and what it covers.
  3. A management-system certificateISO 9001 or similar, in the maker's own name.
  4. The lead time, in writingMarked stocked or made to order.
  5. A price that names freight, installation and taxIncluded or excluded, each one.

A reseller forwards someone else's. A manufacturer holds all five.

Which makers publish all five?

PrivacyPod and Framery publish all five. The other three publish three each.

Five things to have in writing before you order a one-person booth, checked on each maker's own site. An open square means the site does not state it.

  1. 01ISO 23351-1 class
  2. 02Warranty term
  3. 03ISO 9001 certificate
  4. 04Lead time
  5. 05Price
  • PrivacyPodDesigns its pods and builds them in its overseas factory.

    1. 01
    2. 02
    3. 03
    4. 04
    5. 05

    Sold direct at the published price.

    5of 5

  • FrameryAssembles in Tampere, Finland, or at a US or Singapore hub.

    1. 01
    2. 02
    3. 03
    4. 04
    5. 05

    A starting net price. A reseller quotes.

    5of 5

  • ROOMMade in the USA in partnership with OFS.

    1. 01
    2. 02
    3. 03
    4. 04
    5. 05

    Publishes NIC, a different test. No ISO 9001.

    3of 5

  • HushofficeBuilt by its owner, Mikomax, in Lodz, Poland.

    1. 01
    2. 02
    3. 03
    4. 04
    5. 05

    No warranty term, no price. A dealer quotes.

    3of 5

  • SilenMade in its own factory in Estonia.

    1. 01
    2. 02
    3. 03
    4. 04
    5. 05

    No ISO 9001. No purchase price. A reseller quotes.

    3of 5

Each maker's own site, read 1 October 2026. Green marks ours.

Where a square is open, ask. Hushoffice's North American dealer, Haworth, stated a 5-year limited warranty in an April 2025 dealer FAQ.

Silen does list UL 962, SCS Indoor Advantage Gold and an EcoVadis Bronze rating. Framery also assembles its Gradus line in Michigan.

Which acoustic test is behind each number?

Four of the five makers name ISO 23351-1. ISO 23351-1 measures a standard speech signal's sound power with and without the pod.

PrivacyPod's standard, Arc and accessible pods are ISO 23351-1 Class A certified, with approximately 30 dB of speech level reduction. The published figures are 30.5 dB for the S Pod and 30.8 dB for the L Pod.

Check the model, not the brand. Hushoffice and Silen publish the ISO 23351-1 class model by model, and some models are rated below Class A on their own pages. Both say an accredited lab ran the tests; Hushoffice gives customers its reports on request.

ROOM's figure is a Noise Isolation Class. NIC comes from an ASTM noise-reduction test: ASTM E596-22, sound source outside the enclosure, or ASTM E336-25a between two rooms. ROOM does not say which.

One test measures sound going in, the other speech coming out.

What do the warranty and lead time say about the maker?

The document says more than the term.

  • PrivacyPod, 3-year limited. Runs from the ship date; lists frame, glass, acoustic modules, lighting, ventilation and wiring.
  • Framery, 5-year. General Terms and Conditions of Sale, dated 2 August 2024, give wear parts two years.
  • ROOM, 5-year limited. Effective 17 June 2025, from the ship date; Room S units built before 1 September 2025 get two years.
  • Silen, 2-year, extendable to 5. Space Classic terms, valid from 23 March 2026: the extension needs an on-time assembly report and yearly maintenance by a Silen-approved team.

Ask if the lead time is stock or a production slot, with a committed date. Quick-Ship covers the S through XL pods, both Plus models and the Arc pods in Haze; other colors and the accessible pods are made to order. Talk to a person at PrivacyPod.

How does factory-direct change the price?

PrivacyPod and ROOM sell direct. PrivacyPod is built factory-direct, installed nationwide, with every price on the product page and free shipping on every order. ROOM sells direct from factory to business, with a Dealers link to OFS.

Where the price you pay is set

Factory-direct

FactoryDesigns, builds, tests, warrants
BuyerOne published price. Ships free.

Dealer network

FactoryStarting net price
DistributorStock and margin
DealerWrites the quote
BuyerPays the quote

Green: where the price is set. Installation is extra on both.

Add installation. PrivacyPod quotes it separately, roughly $900 to $1,800 per standard or Arc pod.

A published price is not always a low one. Framery's Four lists at $23,090 net, against PrivacyPod's 4-person L Pod at $12,495.

Who are the five office pod makers?

PrivacyPod. Based in Eau Claire, Wisconsin: the office pods collection runs from the 1-person S Pod at $6,395 to the 6-person XL Pod at $14,995. The accessible L ADA Pod and XL ADA Pod, from $24,795 and $29,795, are made to order. Every pod is built in its overseas factory, which has capacity for thousands of pods a month.

Office pods in assembly on PrivacyPod's overseas production line, frames and glass panels on the floor
The production linePods in assembly at PrivacyPod's overseas factory.
PrivacyPod meeting pods in final assembly, upholstered benches fitted and panels wrapped for shipping
Meeting pods in final assemblyBenches fitted, panels wrapped for shipping.

Framery. Founded 2010 in Tampere, Finland; 500-plus distribution partners in 68 countries. See the PrivacyPod vs Framery comparison.

ROOM. Based in New York; its Room S series starts at $16,995. See the PrivacyPod vs ROOM comparison.

Hushoffice. A Mikomax brand, with more than 30 years in contract furniture behind it. Its US site lists nine Hushfree pods, from the one-person XS to the L for four to six.

Silen. A 2018 spin-off from the partition-wall maker Wallenium, with US showrooms in Chicago and, by appointment, Austin. Its Space Classic range runs from the one-person Space 1 to the Space Max for eight.

When is another maker the better choice?

  • Framery, for a smart pod. The One Compact adds a built-in 4G connection and occupancy sensors, the Four an 8-inch touchscreen. Both publish the same ISO 23351-1 class as ours.
  • ROOM, to sit in the pod first, or for US manufacture. Showrooms in nine cities, from Washington DC to Toronto; ROOM states US manufacture in partnership with OFS.
  • Hushoffice, when the order runs through a furniture dealer. Haworth lists the Hushfree range in North America and points buyers to its dealers. The range includes accessible pods, and most models roll on built-in wheels.
  • Silen, for the largest rooms or a rental. The Space 4 seats six at 31.9 dB, the highest figure Silen publishes under ISO 23351-1. Pods can be combined or split by module, and the Space 1 rents from $499 a month in Austin, Texas.
  • Zenbooth and Pillar, also for US manufacture. Outside the five, Zenbooth builds in Berkeley, California; Pillar Booth assembles its $6,695 Pillar One in Chicago. See the PrivacyPod vs Zenbooth comparison.
  • PrivacyPod, where none of those governs. A published price, a 1 to 2 week Quick-Ship window and ISO 23351-1 Class A certified pods, sold by the maker.

Questions

Who are the top office pod manufacturers?

Sellers write the rankings, so judge on what each maker publishes. PrivacyPod, Framery, ROOM, Hushoffice and Silen all publish an acoustic figure and a lead time. PrivacyPod and Framery publish the full set, adding a warranty term, an ISO 9001 certificate and a price.

Is PrivacyPod a manufacturer or a reseller?

PrivacyPod is a manufacturer. PrivacyPod designs and engineers its pods and builds them in its overseas factory. The test reports, the 3-year limited warranty and the ISO 9001, 14001, 14067 and 45001 certificates are in its own name.

What should I check before choosing an office pod manufacturer?

Ask in writing for five documents: the acoustic test report, the warranty document, a management-system certificate, the lead time and a price that names freight, installation and tax. A manufacturer can produce all five; a reseller forwards someone else's.

Are US-made office pods better than European ones?

Origin is a preference, not a test result. Framery, Hushoffice and Silen are European makers, and each publishes a Class A result under ISO 23351-1. For US origin, ask which claim under the FTC's Complying with the Made in USA Standard the paperwork supports.

Do all office pod manufacturers test to the same acoustic standard?

No. Framery, Hushoffice, Silen and PrivacyPod name ISO 23351-1, which measures the speech an enclosure holds in. ROOM's Noise Isolation Class comes from an ASTM method measuring noise coming in.

Talk to our team

Send us a floor plan.

We send back a layout, a lead time, and a quote within four business hours.

877-774-8763info@privacypod.aiMon to Fri, 8am to 5pm CT
Miniature open-plan office with PrivacyPod meeting pods and phone booths